How is my location used?

Professionals are often asked to work longer than expected. Your location helps us verify your extra working time to help you get paid faster. Your location data also helps expedite the hours dispute process.

Coming soon: having location tracking turned on for the entirety of your shift will be a requirement to be eligible for Instapay.

When does Instawork track location?

We track location only while you are working a shift. We begin tracking 90 minutes before the shift starts in order to get an accurate ETA to the site, and stop tracking as soon as you clock out.

How do I enable location tracking?

Please ensure the following settings on your device:

iOS

  1. Location services are enabled on the device

    1. Open the Settings App

    2. Go to Privacy > Location Services

    3. Toggle "Location Services" on

  2. Location permissions are set to "Always Allow" and "Precise Location" for Instawork

    1. Open the Settings App

    2. Go to Instawork > Location

    3. Select "Always" and enable "Precise Location

  3. Motion & Fitness permissions are enabled for Instawork

    1. Open the Settings App

    2. Go to Instawork and enable "Motion & Fitness"

  4. Background App Refresh is enabled for Instawork

    1. Open the Settings App

    2. Go to Instawork and enable "Background App Refresh"

Android

  1. Location services are enabled on the device

    1. Swipe down from the top of the screen

    2. Touch and hold Location

      1. If you don't find Location, Tap Edit or Settings

      2. Drag Location into your Quick Settings

  2. Location permissions are set to "All the time" for Instawork

    1. On your phone home screen, find the Instawork app

    2. Touch and hold the app icon

    3. Tap App Info

    4. Tap Permissions > Location

    5. Select "All the time"

  3. "Allow background data usage" is enabled for Instawork

    1. On your phone home screen, find the Instawork app

    2. Touch and hold the app icon

    3. Tap App Info and go to Mobile Data & WiFi settings for Instawork

    4. Enable "Background data"

Why should location tracking be set to "Always Allow"?

We ask for permission now in case the app isn't open before the shift or if you're traveling to the shift. Remember that we only track location while you are working.

Did this answer your question?